AUT Council

The AUT Council is the governing body of the Auckland University of Technology (AUT). It was established by the Education Act 1989.


John Maasland MA (Cantab), FIOD
Co-opted by Council                               


Sussan Turner
Appointed by the Minister for Tertiary Education

Secretary to Council          

Dr Andrea Vujnovich PhD, MSc (Hons), LLB (Hons)
Assistant Vice-Chancellor Corporate and General Counsel


The Council is chaired by the Chancellor, who is appointed by the members.

Other members of the AUT Council are:

Dr Pat Alley
MBChB, FRACS, Dip.Prof.Ethics.
Co-opted by Council
Urshula Ansell BMD
Appointed by the Auckland Student Movement at Auckland University of Technology
Dr Helen Gaeta Ph.D. M.Sc. B.Sc.
Elected by the Academic Staff of the Auckland University of Technology
Sophie Hayman PgDipArts, PGCE, BA(Hons)
Elected by the Professional Staff of the Auckland University of Technology
Lyn Lim LLB (Hons)
Appointed by the Minister for Tertiary Education
Derek McCormack MSc, DipTchg
Vice-Chancellor of the Auckland University of Technology
James Schofield BCom, MSc (Econ) London, FCA
Co-opted by Council                     
Stephen Stehlin BA
Co-opted by Council
Judith Thompson BSocSc, MMgt
Appointed by the Minister for Tertiary Education         
Lex Henry LLB
Appointed by the Minister for Tertiary Education


Sections 180-181 of the Education Act 1989 specify the Council's functions, duties and powers. These include:

  • To appoint a chief executive in accordance with the State Sector Act 1988
  • To prepare and submit a proposed plan if the institution is seeking funding under a funding mechanism that provides for funding via plans
  • If the institution has a plan:
    • To ensure that the institution is managed in accordance with that plan; and
    • To determine policies to implement that plan
  • To determine, subject to the State Sector Act 1988, the policies of the institution in relation to the management of its affairs
  • To undertake planning relating to the institution's long-term strategic direction
  • To strive to ensure that the institution attains the highest standards of excellence in education, training and research
  • To acknowledge the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi
  • To encourage the greatest possible participation by the communities served by the institution so as to maximise the educational potential of all members of those communities with particular emphasis on those groups in those communities that are under-represented among the students of the institution
  • To ensure that the institution does not discriminate unfairly against any person
  • To ensure that the institution operates in a financially responsible manner that ensures the efficient use of resources and maintains the institution's long-term viability
  • To ensure that proper standards of integrity, conduct, and concern for:
    • The public interest; and
    • The wellbeing of students attending the institution are maintained


Dr Andrea Vujnovich
Council Secretary
Phone +64 9 921 9958

Last updated: 31-Oct-2017 6.21pm

The information on this page was correct at time of publication. For a comprehensive overview of AUT qualifications, please refer to the Academic Calendar.