The Office of Māori Advancement

The office of Māori Advancement works closely with AUT Māori staff, students and the wider community in advising and implementing Mātauranga Māori kaupapa throughout AUT. 

The office is headed by the Pro-Vice Chancellor: Māori Advancement, Professor Pare Keiha.  

Profile of Professor Pare Keiha 

The role of the office

The office provides leadership to both academic and service divisions in achieving AUT’s strategic plan, especially themes and goals related to the advancement of Māori and the Treaty of Waitangi.

The office coordinates the Māori Advancement Advisory Committee as well as the day-to-day operations of the AUT Ngā Wai o Horotiu marae. 

Our initiatives include:

  • Building effective relationships with mana whenua, iwi and Māori communities
  • Conducting research that benefits Māori and their communities
  • Including Māori pathways in the curriculum
  • Promoting access, success and advancement for Māori staff and students
Ngā Wai o Horotiu marae
AUT Directions Strategic Plan (AUT's official publications)

History of the office

The office of Māori Advancement was established in 1997 and known as the Office of Te Ahurei (when the institution was known as AIT). When AUT became a university in 2000, the title of Te Ahurei was changed to the Deputy Vice-Chancellor Māori Advancement. In the year 2004 the office was renamed the Office of Māori Advancement, headed by the Pro Vice-Chancellor for Māori Advancement, Associate Professor Pare Keiha. 

The office was re-housed in Te Ara Poutama (Faculty of Māori and Indigenous Development) WB Block and renovated to provide better support systems and more opportunities for Māori staff and students of AUT.

History of AUT  

AUT and the Treaty of Waitangi

It is through AUT’s commitment to the Treaty of Waitangi that the Office of Māori Advancement and the AUT Ngā Wai o Horotiu marae exist.

This important partnership AUT has with Māori honours the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi, which is integral to the educational, social and philosophical culture of AUT. It ensures that AUT is meeting its commitment to Māori in our community. The three key principles are:

  1. Partnership
    Māori to participate in decision making processes, curriculum development, initiatives and accountability processes.
  2. Protection
    Māori to define and protect knowledge, legitimate knowledge to be defined by and for Māori to be included in representation and legitimating processes.
  3. Participation
    Māori staff and students have access to the benefits of being an employee or student of the university. To participate in the opportunities and course offerings available and to contribute to the benefits of the university. 
Te Tiriti O Waitangi - New Zealand History Online; State Services Commission
Archives New Zealand (graphic reproduction) 

Last updated: 16-Nov-2017 3.17pm

The information on this page was correct at time of publication. For a comprehensive overview of AUT qualifications, please refer to the Academic Calendar.