AUT research: main contacts

Research and Innovation Office


For enquiries about research degree study please visit the postgraduate website

Location:
Level 16, 56 Wakefield St, Auckland City, New Zealand
See location on Google maps

Postal address:
Research and Innovation Office
AUT University, Private Bag 92006
Auckland 1142, New Zealand

Back to top
 

Pro Vice-Chancellor - Research and Innovation: Professor John Raine

 Role:
  • Provides overall leadership for the strategic direction of the university
  • Responsible for the activities of the units in the Research and Innovation Office
  • Chairs the University Research Committee of the Academic Board.

Contact details

john.raine@aut.ac.nz

Phone +64 9 921 9634

Links www.aut.ac.nz/profiles/john-raine 
john raine web

Office of the Vice-Chancellor: Professor Richard Bedford

Role:
  • Provides support to the Office of the Pro Vice-Chancellor - Research and Innovation
  • Supports key strategic initiatives in the Research and Innovation Office.

Contact details

richard.bedford@aut.ac.nz

Phone +64 9 921 9447 
prof-richard-bedford

Research and Innovation Office

Director - Research Strategy and Management: Dr Rosanne Ellis

Role:
  • Provides leadership for university-wide research strategy and management
  • Responsible for ongoing development of relationships with funding agencies and external research and business partners.

Contact details

rosanne.ellis@aut.ac.nz

Phone +64 9 921 9257
Mobile +64 21 966 143 
Rosanne-Ellis

Research Contracts

Associate Director Research Operations: Catherine Redmond

Role:
  • Manages grants and contracts team
  • Responsible for coordination of research management support
  • Development and oversight of research management process documentation
  • Oversight of legal documentation supporting funding arrangements and research partnerships
  • Deputises to Director Research Management & Strategy, including overseeing monthly reporting of contracted external research income to AUT Committees.

Contact details

catherine.redmond@aut.ac.nz

Phone +64 9 921 9999 ext 9386
Mobile +64 21 948 326
Cathrine-Redmond

Director INTERACT & Manager – Industry Engagement: John Bancroft

Roles:

  • Director of INTERACT Centre of Technology Excellence.
    • Development and application of real time, big data tools for society, industry and academia
  • Engagement Portfolio: Industry, CRIs, CoRE’s and international industry partners
    • Promotes research with business and industry and develops local and international research partnerships
    • Assists staff with funding applications, expressions of interest or full tender submissions
    • Works with the AUT Enterprises team to ensure knowledge transfer to industry and society

Contact details

john.bancroft@aut.ac.nz

Phone: +64 9 921 6220
Mobile: +64 217 29231

RIO Staff member John Bancroft

Manager – Industry Engagement: Gary Putt

Role:

  • Portfolio: Industry, CRIs, MBIE and international industry partners
  • Promotes research with business and industry and develops local and international research partnerships
  • Assists staff with funding applications, expressions of interest or full tender submissions
  • Works with the AUT Enterprises team to ensure knowledge transfer to industry and society.

Contact details

gary.putt@aut.ac.nz

Phone: +64 9 921 9398      
Mobile: +64 21 502 232

GaryPutt2Mar2016

Vision Mātauranga Māori Engagement Manager: Dr John Perrott

Role:
  • Works with researchers (Māori and non-Māori), Māori agencies and advisors, iwi, hāpu and whānau, developing best practices for conducting research relevant to and/or involving Māori and mātauranga
  • Assists research staff to develop high quality research proposals, particularly by addressing the Government’s Vision Mātauranga policy.

Contact details

john.perrott@aut.ac.nz

Phone +64 9 921 9999 ext 8654
Mobile: +64 21 21 729 437

Senior Research Advisor (RSNZ): Liana de Jong 

Role:
  • Portfolio: Royal Society of New Zealand (excluding Marsden fund) and multilevel projects
  • Liana also provides back up to the community portfolio team.

Contact details

liana.dejong@aut.ac.nz

Phone +64 9 921 9999 ext 8323
Liana deJong

Research Advisor (HRC and Government Ministry): Liz Turle-Smith

Role:
  • All queries relating to Health Research Council funding
  • Liz also works across the Government funding portfolio with Kimberly Leuila.

Contact details

liz.turlesmith@aut.ac.nz

Phone +64 9 921 9999 ext 6767
Mobile +64 21 991 838
Liz-Turle_Smith

Research Advisor (Industry and MBIE): Yun Jae Lee

Role:

  • Portfolio: Industry, CRIs, MBIE and international industry partners
  • Yun Jae works with John Bancroft and Gary Putt on the industry portfolio.

Contact details

yunjae.lee@aut.ac.nz

Phone +64 9 921 9999 ext 7535
Mobile +64 21 712 537 

Yun Jae Lee2

Research Advisor (Community and Marsden): Julia McPhee 

  • Portfolio: RSNZ Marsden fund and community-based research partnerships including Not-for-Profit organisations.

Contact details

julia.mcphee@aut.ac.nz 

Phone: +64 9 921 9999 ext 5422
Mobile: +64 21 717 734 

Julia McPhee

Manager, Maori Business Engagement: Kevin Pryor

Role:

Contact details

kevin.pryor@aut.ac.nz

Phone: +64 9 921 9845

Staff member Kevin Pryor

Manager, Client Outreach & Communications: Amber Taylor

  • Works with internal and external stakeholders identifying and building mutually beneficial relationships between AUT and industry
  • Manages marketing, communications and industry related events for the wider Research and Innovation directorate
  • Manages special projects for the Pro Vice-Chancellor, Research and Innovation

Contact details

amber.taylor@aut.ac.nz

Phone: +64 9 921 9556

Staff member Amber Taylor

Business Analyst: Rimmi Kothari

Role:
  • Reports on research activity within AUT and the wider research environment
  • Identifies tender funding opportunities relevant to AUT
  • Organises, compiles, complex AUT-wide responses to tender opportunities
  • Liaises with staff for funding applications, expressions of interest or full tender submissions
  • Supports research systems.

Contact details

rimmi.kothari@aut.ac.nz

Phone +64 9 921 9999 ext 8459
Rimmi-Kothari00

Contract Administrator: Bernadette Gleeson

Role:
  • Provides administrative support for the Research Office
  • Manages files for submission of research proposals.

Contact details

bernadette.gleeson@aut.ac.nz

Phone +64 9 921 9999 ext 8960 
Bernadette-Gleeson

Research Performance and Systems

Manager - Research Systems and Performance: Danu Poyner

Role:
  • Manages PBRF and other research assessments
  • Supports research staff with preparation for research assessments
  • Oversees software-based research support systems
  • Monitors and reports on research activity throughout the university.

Contact details

danu.poyner@aut.ac.nz

Phone +64 9 921 9999 ext 6509
Danu Poyner

PBRF Project Manager: Serena Gent

Role:
  • Develop and provide PBRF support materials
  • Coordination of PBRF support activities
  • Support research staff with preparation for research assessments
  • Provides training and support in the use of PBRF software (Research Elements)

Contact details

serena.gent@aut.ac.nz

Phone +64 9 921 9387
Serena Gent

Commercialisation and Innovation

Director of Commercialisation and Innovation, CEO of AUT Ventures: Steve Corbett

Role:
  • Leads the university in developing and promoting innovation and commercialisation both nationally and internationally
  • Chief Executive of the commercial arm of the university, AUT Ventures.

Contact details

steve.corbett@aut.ac.nz

Phone+64 9 921 9246
Steve Corbett

Business Operations Manager - Commercialisation: Dr Enrico Tronchin

Role:
  • Commercialises technology, products or processes developed by the university
  • Coordinates the activities of the commercialisation team.

Contact details

enrico.tronchin@aut.ac.nz

Phone+64 9 921 9528
Enrico Tronchin

Commercialisation Manager: Mitali Purohit

Role:
  • Identifies, captures, evaluates and progresses the commercial development of AUT's intellectual property
  • Manages a product portfolio.

Contact details

mitali.purohit@aut.ac.nz

Phone +64 9 921 9213
Mitali Purohit

Business Analyst: Wilson Huang

Role:
  • Assesses the commercial potential of intellectual property generated at the university
  • Responsibilities include market and patentability assessment.

Contact details

wilson.huang@aut.ac.nz

Phone +64 9 921 9999 ext 8364 
Wilson Huang

Business Development Manager - Tom Davidson

Role:
  • Manages consultancy activity between the university and industry clients
  • Develops business relationships between the university and the business sector.

Contact details

tom.davidson@aut.ac.nz

Phone +64 9 921 9519
Tom-Davidson

Finance

Manager - Finance: Rita Jacob

  • Manages the overall finances of the Research and Innovation Office, including preparation for the university’s annual audit of external research income
  • Responsible for overseeing the financial functions of AUTEL and consultancy activities

Contact details

rjacob@aut.ac.nz

Phone: +64 9 921 9531

Staff member Rita Jacob

Back to top

Faculty research contacts

Culture and Society
Associate Dean (Research) - Dr Sharon Harvey sharon.harvey@aut.ac.nz
Research Co-ordinator - Sophie Moore sophie.moore@aut.ac.nz

Business and Law
Associate Dean (Research) - Professor Bill Doolin bill.doolin@aut.ac.nz
Research Office Manager - Ursula Foley ursula.foley@aut.ac.nz

Design and Creative Technologies
Associate Dean (Research) - Dr Tony Clear tony.clear@aut.ac.nz
Research Development Specialist - Slavko Gajevic slavko.gajevic@aut.ac.nz

Health and Environmental Sciences
Associate Dean (Research) - Associate Professor Lindsey White lindsey.white@aut.ac.nz
Research Development Manager - Sara Metcalf sara.metcalf@aut.ac.nz
Associate Dean (Postgraduate) - Dr Erica Hinckson erica.hinckson@aut.ac.nz

Te Ara Poutama (Māori & Indigenous Development)
Professor Pare Keiha pare.keiha@aut.ac.nz
Research Administrator – Lorraine Fairest lorraine.fairest@aut.ac.nz

Other key contacts in faculties, schools and departments


Last updated: 23-Aug-2017 8.59am

The information on this page was correct at time of publication. For a comprehensive overview of AUT qualifications, please refer to the Academic Calendar.