Research excellence

Researchers who can build significant collaborations, attract funding and foster emerging talent are key to the sustained growth of AUT’s research capability. AUT is fast gaining a reputation for growth in research activity, building effective relationships with research partners and the quality of our researchers.

The merit of AUT research is reflected in:

  • The remarkable growth in the number of staff funded through the Performance Based Research Fund (PBRF)
  • The high calibre of staff wishing to work at AUT
  • Research partnerships with internationally respected organisations
  • Prestigious invitations and appointments our staff receive nationally and internationally
  • Recognition of excellence through traditional academic awards
  • The publication rate of both academic (peer reviewed) journal articles and reports for industry partners, which continues to increase
  • A substantial increase in master's and doctorate level enrolments; with student numbers doubling over the last six years
  • The three fold increase in the number of international student students choosing AUT as the place to conduct their higher degree study

Recognition of research excellence

External recognition

THE Rankings

World rankings

As a young university AUT rates highly in the international rankings. More about AUT's rankings

AUT researchers

AUT researchers are regularly recognised with national and international honours. Recent external honours include:

Professor Mike McGuigan

  • William J. Kraemer Outstanding Sport Scientist of the Year, National Strength and Conditioning Association of the USA, 2016

Professor Patria Hume

  • Geoffrey Dyson Award, International Society of Biomechanics in Sports, 2016

Professor Max Abbott

  • Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit, for services to health, science and education, 2016

Tagaloatele Professor Margaret (Peggy) Ellen Fairbairn-Dunlop

  • Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit, for Services to education and the Pacific community, 2015

Associate Professor Sharyn Graham Davies

  • Leverhulme Visiting Professorship, Cambridge University, 2015

Professor Valery Feigin

  • MacDiarmid Medal, for outstanding research in stroke epidemiology and prevention, Royal Society of New Zealand, 2015
  • HealthTap AppRx Award, for the Stroke Riskometer app, top 100 health and medical apps, 2014
  • Word Stroke Organisation President’s Award, 2014

Professor Elaine Rush

  • Member of the Order of New Zealand, for services to health, 2014

Professor Nik Kasabov

  • Distinguished visiting fellow by the Royal Academy of Engineering, 2013
  • Asia Pacific Neural Network Assembly (APNNA) Outstanding Achievement Award, 2012

Professor John Raine, Pro Vice-Chancellor, Innovation and Enterprise

  • Distinguished fellow of the Institute of Professional Engineers of NZ (IPENZ), 2013

Associate Professor Lindsey White

  • People’s Choice Award, KiwiNet Research Commercialisation Award, 2013

Dr Ella Henry

  • Mana Wahine lifetime achievement award, 2012

Professor Marilyn Waring

  • Zonta International, Honorary membership, 2014
  • Amnesty International, Human Rights Defender Award, 2013
  • NZ Women of Influence Award (Science and Innovation), 2012

Professor Stephen Henry

  • New Zealand Innovators Awards, for Kode Biotech, 2015
  • Royal Society of New Zealand, RJ Scott Medal, 2011

Professor Richard Bedford

  • President of the Royal Society, 2015
  • Royal Society of New Zealand, Dame Joan Metge Medal, 2010

Internal recognition

Outstanding AUT researchers are recognised at AUT’s annual Academic Excellence Awards.

Read more about the 2014 Academic Excellence Awards in Inside AUT (pdf)

Last updated: 07-Sep-2016 11.19am

The information on this page was correct at time of publication. For a comprehensive overview of AUT qualifications, please refer to the Academic Calendar.